Eat That Frog with a Pomodoro!

Zain Ahsan
3 min readAug 19, 2020

--

The Pomodoro Technique is a time management method created by Italian Francesco Cirillo in the late 1980s. The technique uses a timer to break down work into intervals, traditionally 25 minutes in length, separated by short breaks. In Italy, Pomodoro is the sauce made of tomatoes. Eating the frog with tomato sauce is the term used to solve the problems faced by the persons suffering from procrastination.

Procrastination:

Procrastination is the avoidance of doing a task that needs to be accomplished by a certain deadline. It could be further stated as a habitual or intentional delay of starting or finishing a task despite knowing it might have negative consequences. It is a common human experience involving delay in everyday chores or even putting off salient tasks such as attending an appointment, submitting a job report or academic assignment, or broaching a stressful issue with a partner. Although typically perceived as a negative trait due to its hindering effect on one’s productivity often associated with depression, low self-esteem, guilt, and inadequacy; it can also be considered a wise response to certain demands that could present risky or negative outcomes or require waiting for new information to arrive.

Working The Pomodoro Technique:

I often do my office work, just like Pomodoro technique, but it was a little different previously. So this time I decided to adopt this Pomodoro technique. I compiled my pending office tasks which I was trying to ignore for a few days and made a list. I distributed my work according to the technique. And put alarms on my fone having intervals of 30 minutes respectively (25+5). Then I and my assistant finished our work within 4 hours respectively, having 5 minutes break every 25 minutes, and even after 4 pomodoros, we relaxed for half an hour, had coffee, and checked some social media.

Benefits of Pomodoro Technique:

It was a very beneficial technique for me because I was able to do the tasks for which I was procrastinating for some days. There are many benefits of this technique but I came up with 5 of them

  • Manage distractions and control your time. The Pomodoro Technique empowers you to take control of your own time.
  • Increase accountability.
  • Improve weekly and quarterly planning.
  • Decrease back pain and mental fatigue.
  • Maintain motivation.

--

--

Zain Ahsan

Targeted to be an Educationist. MPhil Scholar at Riphah International University Faisalabad.